By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information on cookies see our privacy policy page.

Text Size: a a
Home A-Z Index Subscribe/RSS Contact Us Twitter logo small white bird

Early Retirement Scheme

The Early Retirement Scheme (ERS 3) 2007 was introduced on 13 June 2007. It is one of the measures in Ireland's Rural Development Programme 2007-2013. Farmers who retire early under the Scheme may be eligible for a pension of up to €15,000 a year for up to 10 years. The Scheme also provides a pension for retiring farm workers, in certain circumstances. The Scheme is co-funded under the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD).

The Scheme was suspended on 14th October, 2008. It was reopened temporarily from 23/9/09 until 30/10/09. The Scheme is currently suspended.

What is in this section?


The Scheme terms and conditions and application forms may be downloaded from this site. Hardcopies are available from the Department's Local Offices or from the Early Retirement Section, Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Johnstown Castle, Co. Wexford

Applications under the Scheme must be made to the Early Retirement Section in Wexford.

Less Favoured Areas and Non-Less Favoured Areas

A full list of the townlands is contained in the following documents: