Food Wise 2025

Terms of Reference for the 2025 Agri-Food Strategy Committee

The Committee will prepare and present to the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, a draft strategy for the development of the agri-food sector for the period up to 2025. The strategy will outline the key actions required to ensure that the agri-food sector maximises its contribution to economic growth and exports in an environmentally sustainable manner over the coming decade, building on the progress achieved under Food Harvest 2020. The Committee will also be tasked with considering employment creation opportunities within the sector and advising on measures that could deliver further jobs.

The Committee’s report will be short and specific and will focus on key recommendations addressed to all the lead players in the sector. It is not expected to contain detailed analysis of the sector, but rather will draw on analysis already prepared, including the background papers available on the Department’s website at and such additional material as the Committee considers relevant. The Committee will also have access to all submissions made as part of the public consultation and to further discussion papers to be prepared by the Committee secretariat. It is expected that the draft Agri-Food 2025 Strategy will be presented to the Minister in July 2015.

Committee Members

The composition of the Committee is as follows:
Chair: John Moloney
Helen Brophy, Director of Executive Education at UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School
Laura Burke (CEO and Chair) of EPA
Carmel Cahill, Senior Counsellor, OECD Trade and Agriculture
Kieran Calnan, Chair of BIM
Michael Carey, Chair of Bord Bia
Vincent Carton, CEO / Managing Director, Cartons
Noel Cawley, Chair of Teagasc
Vincent Cleary, Managing Director Glenisk
John Comer, President of ICMSA
Donal Dennehy, Operations Director, Danone Ireland
Michael Dowling, Chairman-designate, Kerry Group PLC
Eddie Downey, President of IFA
Siobhan Egan, Senior Policy Officer, Birdwatch
Pat Glennon, Managing Director, Glennon Brothers
Jim Hanley, Chief Executive, Rosderra
Michael Hoey, Managing Director, Country Crest
John Horgan, Chief Executive, Kepak
Alan Jagoe, Progressive farmer
Martin Keane, President of ICOS
Caroline Keeling, Chief Executive, Keelings
Tony Keohane, Chairman, Tesco Ireland
Patrick Kent, President of ICSA
Kevin Lane, Chief Executive, Irish Dairy Board
Anna Malmhake, Chairman and CEO, Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard
Tom Moran, former Secretary General of the Dept of Agriculture, Food and the Marine
Larry Murrin, CEO of Dawn Farm Foods
Sean O’Donoghue, CEO of Killybegs Fishermen’s Organisation
Kieran O’Dowd, ex President of Macra Na Feirme
John O’Reilly, Food Analyst, Davy’s
Larry O’Reilly, Cereal farmer
Prof Dolores O’Riordan, Director of the Institute of Food and Health (UCD)
Terence O’Rourke, Chair of Enterprise Ireland
Eddie Power, Managing Director, 2 Sisters Food Group
Prof Paul Ross, Prof of Research (UCC)
Siobhan Talbot, Group Managing Director, Glanbia
Secretariat: Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine.
Bord Bia, Teagasc and Enterprise Ireland